COMPANY:

The battle of Shusan. Esther, Chapter 9

[Esther]
My dear royal one

[Achashverosh:]
My love what’s next?

[Esther]
The fighting’s just begun

[Achashverosh:]
It’s a day of death
So many will be killed. Starting with Haman.

[Esther
:]

Enemies!

[Esther
/Achashverosh*]                          Mordechai?

We’ll get evry one

[Achashverosh:]

So what happens once you win?

[Esther]
We’ll have a day of feast
Giving freedom to all people from the greatest to the least

[Achashverosh:]

I’ll be with you when you do

[Esther:]

Those parties don’t end

[Mordechai:]

See you on the other side

[All:]
‘Til we meet again, let’s go!

ENSEMBLE:

I am not throwin’ away my sword!

I am not throwin’ away my sword!

Hey yo, I’m just like the Jewry, fight(ing) with philosemitic fury

And I’m not throwin’ away my sword

I am not throwin’ away my sword!

[Esther:]

‘Til the world turns upside down…

ENSEMBLE:

‘Til the world turns upside down!

[Mordechai:]

I observed death so much it felt like our destiny

This is where it’s ending: on my feet

Amalekites ahead of me

If this is the end of me, at least I’m rewriting history

Weapon in our hands, a command, and my men with me

Then I remember Hadassah’s expecting me

Not only that, my Dasi’s expecting

We gotta go, gotta get the job done

Gonna resettle our nation, with the emperor’s son!

Take no booty anyone

ENSEMBLE:

What?

[Mordechai:
l
Take no booty anyone

ENSEMBLE:

What?

HAMILTON:

We move by  command of emperor and holy one

Jews have rights, Persia’s laws say, at least for the day
We are permitted to fight, not just fast, hope, and pray
We will fight our foes, seize the moment and stay in it

And any wars spoils, God’s command forbids claim on it.

The code word is ‘King Sha’ul,’ dig me?

ENSEMBLE:

King Sh’aul!

[Mordechai]
You have your orders now, go, man, go!

And so a diaspora experiment begins

With our nation all scattered to the winds

Esther is in the king’s inner chamber, redefining flatt’ry* flirting with diplomacy

[Esther]

No chill with me until (we kill our)* enemies          *shushan’s free of enemies

HAMILTON:

When other cities stop, enemies slain

Hadassah is there waiting—

[Esther to King:]
We need another day

[Mordechai]:

How did we know that this plan would work?

We had help from the other side, that’s right

[Mordechai/COMPANY:]

Hashem Tzevaot

[Prophet Jeremiah, voiceover or ghostly]
Prophet foretellin’ exilic years are spent

I foretold the punishment, salvation, and now I reveal it.

COMPANY:

Up

[Jeremiah or Mordechai]:

For my nation’s extraordinary covenant

God works behind the scenes for Liberty and we’re observing it

See, that’s what happens when you up against the Judeans

We in God’s storm now, the wicked get some pummeling

Hashem ish Milchama, He needs no introduction

When Israel is down He lifts them way back up again!

COMPANY:

Fast! Pray! Fight!

Go!

What! What! What!

[King]:

Another day of fighting, 11 aggagites hang from the gallows.

[Esther]

We thank our God as we understand we barely survived genocide

[Mordechai]
And just like that, it’s over. We tend to our wounded, we count our dead

[Esther]:

Jew and gentiles wonder alike if this really means complete freedom

[King:]

Tax Hike

HAMILTON:

We prevent anyone from taking plunder
I see Esther Hamalkah smile

We clear the bodies out of Shushan

We pray the peace lasts a while

Tens of thousands of people flood the streets

As a dreamer I hear Zion’s bells ringing

And as our fallen foes retreat

I hear the drinking song they’re singing…

ALL MEN:

The world turned upside down

FULL COMPANY:

The world turned upside down

The world turned upside down

The world turned upside down

Down

Down, down, down

Mordechai:

Freedom in Medea, freedom for Jews!

COMPANY:

Down, down, down

[King/Esther:]
Gotta restart my nation

Gotta meet my son

COMPANY:

Down, down, down

[Jews:]
We won!

[Philosemites]
We won!

We won!

We won!

COMPANY:

The world turned upside down!

