Tags

, , , , , , ,

[Jamie Foxx voice]
God hears my prayers, when I’m in need
Yeah God’s a mighty friend indeed
Oh God’s a life saver (time after time)
That’s true for me

[God raps this part/parentheses by “jamie foxx”]
(God hears my prayers)
Now I ain’t sayin’ you’re a born leader (When I’m in need)
But I ain’t messin’, you’re the bloke bloke (God hears my prayers)
Now I am sayin’ you my messenger (When I’m in need)
but you’ll be sayin YudHay spoke, spoke (oh rescue me)
Go down Moses, go ‘head Go down (oh rescue me)
Go down Moses, go ‘head Go down (oh rescue me)
Go down Moses, go ‘head Go down (I gotta leave)
Go down Moses, go save

[Verse 1:]
[Jamie Foxx’s lyrics repeated across verse]
Moshe da one
Met God at a bush in Midian
That bush in flames but not quite gone
like Israel under Pa-Pharaoh’s thumb. God said
just wear your socks
I don’t mean ya no harm
Far as sheep you got a flock
But I am who I am, God of Avraham
and I’m lookin’ for the one
Could you be ‘im?
My people call me, gonna save them from Suffering
Crying, Slavery, and drowning their kids
An’ I gonna take down Pharaoh and all that is his

Okay, you got kids, but you’re the one I will send
I WILL BE WITH you then, and you still question?
Tell them I AM’s back, and then do what I SAY

If you listen to my words, then you won’t be afraid
You know why
Take Aharon your brother
From what I heard he got a flow like Busta
But Egypt won’t let you go until I’ve crushed her
It won’t matter what you say, Pharaoh must suffer.

(God hears my prayers)
Now I ain’t sayin’ you’re a born leader (When I’m in need)
But I ain’t messin’, you’re the bloke bloke (God hears my prayers)
Now I am sayin’ you my messenger (When I’m in need)
but you’ll be sayin YudHay spoke, spoke (oh rescue me)
Go down Moses, go ‘head Go down (oh rescue me)
Go down Moses, go ‘head Go down (oh rescue me)
Go down Moses, go ‘head Go down (I gotta leave)
Go down Moses, go save

[Verse 2:]
[Jamie Foxx’s lyrics repeated across verse]
400 years, 200 years
Israel’s my first-born kid, enslaved for hundreds o’ years
I know Avraham’s calling child transport for all of his kids
His babies’ home’s Canaan cause of my promises
You will know this is true, in a dramatic way
When the Israelites leave Egypt for a land of honey
And when Israel goes, Egypt will shower you with its money
Right before it croaks, Egypt will go psycho, give you its money
You’ll be walkin around proud, Aristocrats with its money
Shoulda be reassured, PEPTO for ya tummy, not funny
If you ain’t no punk holla’ “sign me up”
“SIGN ME UP!” yeah?
It’s something that you need to say
‘Cause when I send you best be gon’, take this staff
No more fears, no more fears
get on your holy journey, Aaron’s setting out on his

(God hears my prayers)
Now I ain’t sayin’ you’re a born leader (When I’m in need)
But I ain’t messin’, you’re the bloke bloke (God hears my prayers)
Now I am sayin’ you my messenger (When I’m in need)
but you’ll be sayin YudHay spoke, spoke (oh rescue me)
Go down Moses, go ‘head Go down (oh rescue me)
Go down Moses, go ‘head Go down (oh rescue me)
Go down Moses, go ‘head Go down (I gotta leave)
Go down Moses, go save

Now I ain’t sayin’ you a born leader, you will lead
I want a dude to smite, and you gonna be he
You throw down your staff, it snakes, ya believe?
There’s leperosy on your arm, when you roll up your sleeve

But while y’all washin’, watch him
Yo gon’ make Nile turn to blood under the hot sun
You need that ambition, Moshe this ain’t no lies

[“Go down Moses” background comes in again]
Right now you’re so unsure, but soon Egypt’s firstborns die
So, stick by My side
I know which dude I’m callin, and Aaron by your side
And you gon keep hemmin and hawin
But you leave tonight, sir
Cause when I command, I demand the whole world

Go down Moses, go ‘head Go down
Go down Moses, go ‘head Go down
Go down Moses, go ‘head Go down
Go down Moses, go ‘head
(He hears my prayers)
Let my people go

