Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

Thanksgivukah (to Gavin Degraw’s “Best I ever had”)

Hey it’s chanukah, Thankin America
I fried a turkey and I made latkes as the side
We’re embracing, this november fusion
You can all join in, for a slice of Jew-Am pride

You said, “Let’s go home, I love these holidays
‘But there’s so much confusion about how the two relate
You’ve got Thanksgiving, but it’s still secular
You’ve got Chanukah, oil miracle, also there’s a war

This is Thaaanksgivukah

And I’m
trying not to let this PRESSure fill me with dread
But I’ve
read that it’s been hundred twenty five years since this holiday
It’s 4th and goal and I can’t fumble the play
This is Thaaanksgivukah
I won’t be to blame

Night sky full of stars, these menorahs light up the dark.
I’m looking at the guests and they’ve got stuffing on their forks.
They spin the dreidel here, pumpkin pie will disappear
And maybe once a year, giving thanks ain’t enough

‘Cause I’m thanks giving, miracles
I’ve been illuminating with candlelight and olive oil
I got sufganiyot filled with pumpkin cream
I got presents to open, along with my pants’ seams

This is Thaaanksgivukah   And I’mmm
Trying to get that it’s NOVember into my head
But I
think I emptied my wallet for chocolate turkey gelt
Lost my whole stash when that dreidel fell
This is Thaaanksgivukah
It won’t come again

Hey Merry Christmas, Hey Joyful Kwanza
Winter holidays, don’t even know you
Hey black friday, Hey mall santa
Mall congestion, don’t even know you
Hey there Pilgrim, Hey Matisyahu
I think I love you, Want to get to know you
Hey Maccabees, Hey Sakagawea
I think I love you, want to get to know you

[ethereal:] SPINNNNNNNNNNNNNN

This is Thaaanksgivukah
And I’m
trying to have the best holiday I’ve ever had
but I
saw the kids drew a sign of Turkey Maccabee
gobbling, “Thank someone ‘fore you take a seat”
This is Thaaanksgivukah
It won’t come again

Hey Merry Christmas, Hey Joyful Kwanza
Winter holidays, don’t even know you
(This is Thaaanksgivukah Hey my pilgrims, Hey matisyahu
(This is Thaaanksgivukah) Religious freedom, we all love you

Yeahhh, Happy Chanugiving

